

257 North Street, Harrisburg, PA 17101 tel 717.234.2310 fax 717.234.2522 info@preservationpa.org www.preservationpa.org

F. Otto Haas Award

In 1997, Preservation Pennsylvania renamed their annual Preservationist of the Year Award to honor F. Otto Haas (1915-1994), a noted preservationist and philanthropist. The award is a standing recognition of his service and contributions to historic preservation across the state. Mr. Haas was a founding board member Preservation Pennsylvania, served two terms as Chairman of the Board, and was a valuable advisor to the organization until his death in 1994. His dedication to Preservation Pennsylvania and historic preservation in Pennsylvania still inspires us today.

This award honors outstanding individual or group achievements in the field of historic preservation over an extended period.

F. Otto Haas Recipients

- 1988 Chester County Commissioners
- 1989 First National Bank of Pennsylvania
- 1990 The Pew Charitable Trusts, William Penn Foundation, Stockton Rush Bartol Foundation
- 1991 Pennsylvania Historical & Museum Commission
- 1992 Hyman Myers
- 1993 Kurt Zwikl
- 1994 John Murtha
- 1995 Samuel Dornsife
- 1996 Steel Industry Heritage Corporation
- 1997 Henry A. Jordan, M.D.
- 1998 Louis J. Appell, Jr.
- 1999 Mary Werner DeNadai
- 2000 Thomas Hylton
- 2001 Arthur P. Ziegler, Jr.
- 2002 John B. Rosenthal & Pennrose Properties
- 2003 Charles Peterson FAIA
- 2004 Pennsylvania Capitol Preservation Committee
- 2005 Pennsylvania Heritage Parks Program, PA Dept. of Conservation & Natural Resources
- 2006 Caroline E. Boyce
- 2007 Rick Sebak
- 2008 Partners for Sacred Places
- 2009 Robert and Ruth Bascom, Wharton Esherick Museum
- 2010 John Milner, FAIA
- 2011 Susan Star Paddock and No Casino Gettysburg
- 2012 Janet S. Klein
- 2013 A. Rov Smith
- 2014 Paul M. Heberling
- 2015 Thomas B. Hagen
- 2016 Pennsylvania State Historic Preservation Office
- 2017 The Progress Fund